LIFF | Urojahaj (The Flight) + Q&A

EUROPEAN PREMIERE: 23 June, 2019 2:50 pm | BFI Southbank, London
Q&A with special guest

24 June, 2019 8:40 pm | Cine Lumiere, London
Q&A with special guest

Director: Buddhadeb Dasgupta
Starring: Chandan Roy Sanyal, Parno Mittra, Sudipto Chatterjee
Run time: 82 mins | Recommended Certificate: 12A
Language: Bengali with English subtitles | Year: 2018 | Country: India

Legendary Bengali filmmaker Buddhadeb Dasgupta, who has a magic realist style akin to Guillermo del Toro, attends the festival to present one of his finest films, Urojahaj (The Flight). An idealistic villager discovers a wrecked WW2 Japanese warplane deep in a ghostly forest. Seeing passenger planes overhead, his dream has always been to fly. He sets about secretly repairing the plane, but as he starts enquiring about an engine, the military find out and he is soon considered a national threat. Dasgupta’s films are often subtly laced with a pressing politic of the ordinary man pitted against the all-powerful state and Urojahaj (The Flight) is no different.

Buddhadeb Dasgupta
An ex- economics professor, an illustrious Bengali poet and writer, Buddhadeb Dasgupta is an internationally celebrated master filmmaker, considered to be India’s foremost today. His signature style rests as much on the visual poetry of his films as on the socially relevant themes he highlights. He delves into several a different layers of “reality” and creates a world un-presumed. Dasgupta have won numerous national and international awards, accolades and honour from the most prestigious organisations worldwide in the last forty years of his filmmaking career. Winner of Best Director’s award from Venice International Film Festival for his Masterpiece UTTARA (The Wrestlers), he has been programmed for Masters’s of World Cinema section of Toronto International Film Festival for seven times and has won the prestigious Golden Athena, Life Time Achievement award from Athens International Film Festival. Dasgupta has been the chairman of Satyajit Ray Film and Television Institute, Kolkata, Government of India for two terms and is a part of the present Academy Award Jury Board


Jun 23 2019

More Info

Read More

Next Event