30 Artists, 30 Years

June 2020 – Dec 2020

Bagri Foundation presents 30 Artists, 30 years, consisting of thirty interviews with visual artists, musicians, performers, academics, journalists, writers and storytellers whose work has been supported by the Bagri Foundation or the Bagri family since 1990. The interview series celebrates the Bagri Foundation’s 30 years supporting extraordinary Asian talent and shows the long-term commitment of the Foundation to engage with diverse and dynamic ideas through myriad arts and culture programmes which challenge and inspire.

In its 30th anniversary year, the Bagri Foundation shares short interviews over a series of weeks through social media and on the website. The project re-visits those who have forged a connection to the Foundation and family over the years and see how they have continued to make work, research and keep creating during such a unique year. The aim is to delve into the foundation’s broad scope of activity via the archive, reconnect with the interviewees’ practices, and form a vision for the future of Asian arts and culture together.

Some of the artists have responded using video, whilst some have written answers or even audio answers. Many of them share advice and explore their work with us in more detail, linking it back to their inspiration and background. We present experts in their field and almost all have something to say about the change felt throughout the arts after this pandemic that has affected the world. The full artist list will be revealed below as and when the interviews are released.

Artists and Creatives highlighted include:

Soumik Datta, Nasri Atallah, Anicka YiRose Issa, Wang Guangyi, haihm, David Murphy
Master Koichi Honda, Elhum ShakerifarDr Nassar Mansour, Shezad Dawood, Khosrow Hassanzadeh, Vayu Naidu, Farhad Ahrarnia, Aruna Sairam, Rachid Koraichi, Meeta Pandit, Shahzia Sikander, Nikhil Chopra, Hu Shenyuan, Juliana YazbeckPeter Stewart, Bidisha, Mark Sealy, Jameela Siddiqi, Cary SawhneyJasmin Kent Rodgman,  
Susie Ibarra, Aakash Odedra, Dr Imma Ramos.